50 Book Challenge (part 6)

Monster Love by Carol Topolski (7/10) – I was intrigued by the blurb of this book so I picked it up when I did a little autumn/winter book haul earlier this year. This was quite a disturbing read, and not something that I’d recommend to everyone. The subject matter is made clear within the blurb (the murder of a child), and is obviously a sensitive subject so if that is the kind of thing you cannot imagine reading about I wouldn’t pick this up. If you’re interested in the psychological elements behind an incomprehensible act like that, this is a very interesting read.

Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge (6/10) – This was an audiobook that I downloaded from Audible a little while ago to listen to during slow periods at work or when I’m on the train and I can’t focus enough to actually read a book. I didn’t like the narrator very much, but the story itself was good enough that I was able to get past it. The book was about a serial killer who locks two people up together, and one of them has to kill the other in order to be released and stay alive. Verrrry interesting.

The Vanishing by Wendy Webb (6/10) – I love the cover of this book, I think it’s so beautiful. If you like the idea of reading about a haunted old mansion set in the dead of winter in the middle of the woods, with a protagonist who spends her days reading books in an old library and drinking tea – this could be a book for you. It was an easy read, and I got through the bulk of it over the course of one weekend.

Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant (5/10) – I picked this book up after seeing it on a friend’s ‘to read’ list on Goodreads. I’ve read more ‘murder mystery’ books this year than I have in my 29 years of life, and I’m surprised at how much I like them. I won’t go into too much detail about this one, because there is a bit of a twist at the end that caught me off guard. This was another easy read, and I managed to churn through it in a couple of days.

2 Comments to “50 Book Challenge (part 6)”

  1. Those first two books sound good, adding them to my wishlist!

Leave a Reply

